We’ll be out of town for a little over a week, so today I did my very best to use up all the leftover veggies that were in the fridge. Thanks to the Martha Stewart Living magazine that Erin happened to give me, I found the perfect recipe for the rest of the basil and tomatoes from this week’s CSA share:

Tomato & Basil Pasta (I halved all the ingredients for a smaller batch)

Combine 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, 3 thinly sliced garlic cloves, 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt, and 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper in a large bowl. Toss in 1 pound cooked and drained short pasta. Tear 4 medium tomatoes and 1 pound burrata or mozzarella cheese; scatter over pasta. Garnish with small basil leaves, and sprinkle with pepper.

We didn’t have mozzarella or whatever burrata is, so I tossed my pasta with goat cheese, used regular sea salt and spaghetti pasta, and didn’t understand what it meant to tear tomatoes, so I just diced mine instead. The pasta was the perfectly salty and cooked perfectly al dente. And, since I looove goat cheese, I really loved this dish.

And then after lunch, I contemplated what to do with the last 1/2 of a zucchini and decided upon baked zucchini chips! And now we have a snack for our flight back to Seattle.

These taste… healthy. 🙂 It is a little bland, I think next time I would maybe add some spice (cayenne?) to give it a little kick. And also use the entire egg instead of just the whites for a little more heartiness or depth to these. But, I do like that when you take a bite you can still actually taste the zucchini, and that’s yummy.

