Tonight was the first time I ever ate or prepared tomatillos, (again thanks to Elby & Grace’s CSA share this week). I decided to make something completely different — Chilaquiles Verdes. What a fun name! I accompanied our chilaquiles with some Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken. Both were great!

Chilaquiles are a traditional Mexican peasant dish of fried tortillas bathed in green or red salsa (depending on the region) until tender. Chilaquiles are most commonly eaten at breakfast time (not uncommonly as a hangover cure). Unlike nachos, chilaquiles are a meal to be eaten with a fork. Nothing is wasted in the Mexican home, so this dish was born as a clever way to revive yesterday’s tortillas and leftover salsa.You can ask for chilaquiles to be topped with a fried egg, frijoles negros, or shredded chicken or beef.

This was a really great dish, it was just unfortunate that tonight, for some reason I lost my appetite. 😦 But despite that fact, I was still able to eat the chilaquiles and appreciate its taste! I was surprised at how easy it is to make salsa verde –  so simple! All you do is boil the veggies whole, puree them with spices, then put it back on the stove to thicken. No chopping involved, whatsoever! I also had a lot of fun deep-frying for the first time and making home-made tortilla chips, which I think taste better knowing you made them yourself.

