At the time of this writing, I am in the midst of making my first Dutch Baby, a really fluffy pancake with more eggs and less flour, that bakes and rises, or soufflés (literally French for to breathe or blow) in the oven. I found my recipe from Molly Wizenberg’s A Homemade Life, which I read from cover to cover pretty quickly. As of right now, the batter is ready, the pan is buttered and I’m just waiting for my husband and our friend visiting from Seattle to wake up so I can put it in the oven and we can enjoy yummy, fresh-out-of-the-oven goodness.

Not sure where the name comes from (is it really Dutch?), but a typical “Baby” is baked in a cast-iron skillet (which we have, but it’s dirty from last weekend’s camping trip). Today I am using a glass pie pan instead, but you can also use a metal or Pyrex cake or pie pan. And again, I’m using our white whole wheat flour, and I substituted whole milk for half-and-half. Also, I decided to experiment and add blueberries and pecans to one half of the Baby. Hopefully, it’ll turn out well!

Ingredients

2 T unsalted butter
4 large eggs
1/2 c unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 c milk
1/4 t salt

For the topping:
freshly squeezed lemon juice
Powdered sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Put the butter in an 8-inch cast-iron skillet and place over low heat. Alternatively, put the butter in a similarly sized cake pan or pie plate and place it in the preheated oven for a few minutes. As the butter melts, use a pastry brush to coax it up the sides of the skillet or pan.

2. Meanwhile in a blender or food processor, mix together the eggs, flour and half-and-half, and salt until well blended.

3. Pour the egg mixture into the warmed skillet. Slide into the oven, and bake for 18-25 minutes. The mixture will rise and puff around the edges, like a bowl-shaped soufflé. The Dutch baby is ready when the center looks set and edges are nicely risen and golden brown.

4. Remove from the oven. Drizzle — or splash, really; abundance is good here — with lemon juice and sprinkle generously with powdered sugar (I’m thinking of using granulated sugar for texture. Lemon and sugar crepes are my fave). Serve immediately.

Update: Looking good! The blueberry side of the pan didn’t quite puff up, but it was still cooked and tasted great. Next time I would add some vanilla and perhaps some cinnamon to the batter for a little more umph to the dish, but it was still great regardless.

We also had quite a nice breakfast spread. Kelvin came with concord grapes, Fuji apple cider and Irish bacon (grilled in the cast iron pan). A filling, but not too heavy meal. Best breakfast I’ve had in awhile, maybe even ever?

