Noah and I both love Kozy Shack pudding. Whenever I allow myself to bring a container of their delicious rice pudding home it’s usually gone within a day. Last time, I happened to glance at the ingredients (milk, rice, eggs, sugar) and realized that 1)  rice pudding may not be all that bad for you, and 2) I could probably make it myself.

In the month of October, I actually made two rather large batches of rice pudding (the recipe makes 12 servings!). I’m still tweaking the recipe to get the pudding and rice to the texture and consistency that I like, but at least we have the flavor down! I added cardamom to the recipe that I found, which gives it a slight Indian flavor. Also, I think next time I may try to attempt to make a coconut flavored rice pudding, using coconut milk!

-Batch 1 was made with arborio rice and lactaid (Noah is lactose intolerant). Neither of us liked the fat size of the rice and Lactaid was fine, but made the pudding slightly too sweet. My engineer husband explained to me that Lactaid is made by breaking down the lactose into two sugars, one of them being sucrose, which as we know is sweet.

-Batch 2 was made with Basmati rice and regular whole milk. We got the sweet quotient correct, but the rice got cooked a little too much for my taste. It was just a little too soft, and I like my pudding more creamy and milky. So, next time I just have to cook the pudding for less time, which actually saves me time!

Rice Pudding

Ingredients:

1/2 gallon milk
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup uncooked long-grain white rice
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 cup milk
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla extract
ground cinnamon to taste
ground cardamom to taste

Directions:

1. In a large saucepan over medium-low heat, combine 1/2 gallon milk, sugar and rice. Simmer, covered, 45 mins, stirring frequently. Remove pan from heat and let rest 10 minutes.

2. In a small bowl, combine eggs, 1/4 cup milk, salt and vanilla. Stir into rice mixture and return pot to low heat, stirring constantly, for 2 minutes. Pour into a 9×13 inch dish and cover with plastic wrap, folding back the corners to allow the steam to escape.

3. When pudding has cooled to room temperature, remove plastic wrap and sprinkle surface of pudding with cinnamon and cardamom. Cover tightly and cool or chill before serving.

P.S. The original recipe has you simmer the milk and rice for an hour. I got hungry, so below is what I ate while I constantly stirred for 60 mins. (not so healthy)

