I LOVE PIES!

Friday Night:

Last weekend, I made two and a half desserts. On Friday night I was supposed to go over to my friend Carrie’s for a girls’ dessert night. I planned on making this Rum Raisin Pie from Martha Stewart. Unfortunately, when it came to putting my custard on the stove, this is what happened:

I was mortified! All my eggs basically got scrambled in milk! I believe the stove heat was too high, but I blame this on Martha, because the recipe did say medium low; if it had said low like it was supposed to, I would have used low. I even tried to put this in the food processor to make it turn back into a homogenous consistency – no luck.

I was pretty depressed and dejected after such a fiasco. I don’t think I’ve ever failed so badly at making something. After several hours, I still had a perfectly good pie crust, so I decided to make a Peach Cream Pie (this time using trusty Allrecipes). And this pie redeemed my evening! I did use Martha’s Stewart recipe for Pate Brisee (pie crust made with butter).

Wonderful, delicious peach pie!

Yummy, Yummy Peach Cream Pie

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
1 cup (2 sticks) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 in pieces
1/4 – 1/2 cup ice water

4 cups fresh peaches – peeled, pitted and sliced
3/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1 cup heavy whipping cream

Directions:

1. Pulse flour and salt in a food processor. Add butter, and pulse until mixture forms coarse crumbs with some larger pieces remaining, about 10 seconds.

2. With machine running, add ice water in a slow, steady stream just until dough holds together without being wet or sticky, no longer than 30 seconds.

3. Divide dough in half, and shape into disks. Wrap in plastic; refrigerate at least 1 hour or overnight. Dough can be frozen up to 1 month; thaw in the refrigerator overnight before using.

4. Peel and slice peaches.

5. Combine sugar, flour, salt and nutmeg. Add to the peaches and toss lightly. Turn out into pie shell. Pour whipping cream evenly over top.

6. Bake in a preheated 400 degree F  oven for 35-45 minutes or until firm and golden brown on top. Let cool and serve warm.

Sunday:

I made a Citrus Pumpkin Pie. I am not an connoisseur of pumpkin pies, but this was quite excellent. One person even commented that it was the best pumpkin pie she had ever had. The recipe comes with grand marnier whipped cream, which I did not use, but might next time.

Citrus Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients:

1 Butter Pie Crust dough disk (I used the other half of my Pate Brisee from Friday)

1 15 oz can pumpkin puree
2 tsp grated lemon peel
2 tsp grated orange peel
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp grated nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
Pinch of ground cloves
3 large eggs
1 1/4 cups heavy whipping cream

Directions:

1. Position rack in bottom third of oven; preheat to 375 degrees. Roll out dough on floured surface to 13 inch round. Transfer to prepared dish. Fold edges under and crimp, forming high border. Line crust with foil; fill with dried beans or pie weights. Bake 15 mins. Remove foil and beans/weights. Bake until edges are light golden, pressing crust with back of fork if bubbles form, about 7 mins. Cool 10 mins. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees.

2. Mix the first 7 ingredients in a bowl. Add eggs one at a time. Gradually add cream.

3. Pour filling into warm crust. Bake until edges are puffed and center is set, about 1 hour. Cool completely on rack.

