Last week, I was craving some hot and sour soup. I looked up recipes and determined it was waaaaay too complicated to make from scratch, so for the first time in my life I ordered in Chinese food. While looking at the menu, I came across moo shu pork, which sadly was not an option on the lunch special. So, I ordered some kind of icky Chinese food (although the soup was completely satisfying), and decided to head to Chinatown for groceries and make Moo Shu Pork dinner the next day. I looked up recipes, and they all seemed way too high maintenance, so I decided to adapt the recipe I use for Asian Lettuce Wraps instead.

Moo Shu Pork has always been one of my favorite Chinese dishes. I think I just love eating anything tasty that gets wrapped like a taco. So delicious! Here’s what (I think) I did:

Cathy’s Moo Shu Pork (I don’t think it’s very authentic, but I’ve had many moo shu porks and it tasted like the others)

Ingredients:

2 tsp minced ginger
2 tsp minced garlic
1 lb pork tenderloin, sliced thinly
1/4 onion, diced
1/2 small head of cabbage, thinly sliced
2 1/2 cups bean sprouts
1 can sliced water chestnuts
1 cup mushrooms, quartered
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp rice wine or white wine
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1 tsp Asian chili sauce
white pepper
chili flakes
salt
1 tsp corn starch
2 green onions, diced
Moo Shu Wrappers

Directions:

1. Saute garlic and ginger with oil in a wok until tender.

2. Add the sliced pork, cook until mostly done.

3. Add onion, then cabbage, then bean sprouts, mushrooms and water chestnuts. Combine with soy sauce, wine, hoisin sauce and chili sauce. Season to taste with salt, white pepper, chili flakes and any of the other wines or sauces. Mix the cornstarch with water and add to liquid in the wok.

4. Serve with moo shu pork wrappers, fresh green onions and extra hoisin sauce. Eat!

