Two evenings ago I went to Chelsea Market to buy groceries. I had just finished paying when I saw that the person behind me was about to buy a bag of fresh chestnuts. Instead of exiting the store to go home, I immediately roamed through the entire store again, scouring for said chestnuts. I had to have them! It was so cold, there was no alternative but to enjoy a warm pile of chestnuts in my hand that evening. Little did I know, those chestnuts were actually located right next to the cashier. I bought some and happily walked home in the freezing cold.

My family always roasts our chestnuts in the oven, but Noah wanted to try boiling them too. So, we divided our spoil in half and conducted an experiment of sorts. Although both methods were great, we both determined that roasted chestnuts had a better aroma. I also think the roasted batch retained its heat longer, and thus remained easy to peel. At the outset, I think the boiled chestnuts were slightly easier to peel (neither were too difficult, though), but since they lost their heat faster, I had to microwave the last handful of boiled chestnuts. Apparently, once cooled, the shell and inside skin refuse to tear apart from the actual nut.

What a delightful way to spend a winter evening!

Roasted Chestnuts

roasted chestnuts

1. Score each chestnut with an X to let steam and heat escape. Failure to do so might result in an exploded chestnut!

2. Place chestnuts in a 425 degree oven for 20 mins.

3. Peel and eat!

Boiled Chestnuts

boiled chestnuts

1. Score each chestnut with an X to let steam and heat escape. Failure to do so might result in an exploded chestnut!

2. Boil chestnuts in water for about 15 mins.

3. Drain, peel and eat!

