We threw a small baby shower for my friend Carrie on Saturday morning. I volunteered to make some type of fruit tarts. My original idea was to buy puff pastry cups (usually found in grocery stores back in Seattle, but nowhere to be found in NYC), fill them with pastry cream and top with berries. I was only able to find puff pastry sheets, so decided to cut the puff pastry sheet into smaller sections and stuff it into muffin/cupcake tins to form cups. It worked out wonderfully!

Also, this would be my second attempt at creating a custard (the first time was a disaster). This time I was extremely cautious and precise in following every direction and it was a success! I stirred feverishly while Noah poured the hot milk ever so slowly that both of our hands were shaking.

Easy Strawberry Tarts

I made another version of this with a store bought pie crust using the leftover cream and berries.

2 puff pastry sheets (I used Tjs brand)

For the pastry cream:
2 cups milk
1/4 cup white sugar
2 egg yolks
1 egg
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/3 cup white sugar
2 tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

sliced strawberries

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Spray muffin/cupcake tin with non-stick spray.

2. Thaw pastry puff sheets, then cut each sheet into rectangles. Fold each rectangle into muffin compartments (corners will stick out). Bake at 400 for 15 minutes. Let puff pastry cool slightly.

3. Fill each pastry with pastry cream (must be made the day or night before!)

4. Top with sliced strawberries and sprinkle powdered sugar on top. Remove pastries from muffin tins and serve.

YUM!

