Since the slow cooker chili was so amazingly easy and scrumptious, I decided to try again with this jambalaya recipe. I was slightly disappointed that this recipe was not as easy and fast as the chili (took maybe about 35 mins to prep), but it really wasn’t too much work. I also regretted my decision to do without shrimp – it tasted good, but was just missing that extra seafood flavor. I was trying to save some money, and I reasoned that the recipe already had two types of meat, but as I have found out, shrimp is key in a jambalaya.

Slow Cooker Jambalaya:

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken thighs – cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1 pound andouille sausage, sliced
  • 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 large green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning (I just added some garlic powder, cayenne, paprika, salt & pepper)
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 pound frozen cooked shrimp without tails (or fresh would have worked, too)

Directions:

  1. In a slow cooker, mix the chicken, sausage, tomatoes with juice, onion, green bell pepper, celery, and broth. Season with oregano, parsley, Cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, and thyme.
  2. Cover, and cook for at least 4 hours on Low. Stir in the shrimp during the last 30 minutes of cook time.
