Upon our return from St John, I was sick of fish (and rice and beans), so I opted to make polenta for the first time and added some breaded chicken and broccolini (sauteed with garlic & salt). This was actually a super easy meal to make and yummy, too. I threw in 3-4 chopped up mushrooms we had leftover from a previous meal into the polenta, which I think made for an excellent addition.

Cheesy Polenta

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 cup polenta or yellow cornmeal
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 4 ounces sharp Cheddar cheese, shredded
  • Optional: chopped mushrooms

In a large pot over medium-high heat, bring milk, water, and salt to a boil. Gradually whisk in polenta. Reduce heat to low, and cover. Cook 20 minutes, until creamy, lifting the lid and stirring every 3 or 4 minutes to prevent sticking. Remove pot from stove, stir in mushrooms, pepper and butter. Gradually stir in cheese. Serve.

Amazing Chicken (adapted from here)

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken thighs
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise (not entirely sure how much I used, I eyeballed it til I thought it was the right proportion to my chicken)
  • 3/4 cup bread crumbs (also not entirely sure how much I used, just eyeballed til it looked proportional)
  • oregano, basil, thyme

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Grease a shallow baking dish.
  2. Coat chicken breasts on all sides with mayonnaise, and roll in mixture of bread crumbs, oregano, basil and thyme until coated. Place coated breasts into the prepared pan.
  3. Bake uncovered for 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until chicken is no longer pink in the middle, and the juices run clear.
