A few weeks ago, Wholefoods’ sale on eggplants, green peppers and summer squash prompted me to envision the soft, tender and ever-so-slightly-smokey eggplant often found in Thai curries. I could not stop thinking about it, so off I went to make some Thai curry with eggplant, green peppers, and summer squash. And, although I was a bit worried, my eggplant came out exactly how I had hoped!

Thai Red Curry

1 tbsp minced ginger
1 tbsp minced garlic
14 oz chicken thighs, sliced
7 oz Thai red curry paste
1 eggplant, chopped
1 summer squash, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
14 oz coconut milk

Place eggplant in a colander set over a bowl and mix with salt. Wait 20 minutes for eggplant moisture to drip into bowl and discard.

Saute ginger and garlic in a wok with oil over medium heat until garlic is golden. Add chicken and curry paste. Allow curry paste to coat all the meat and then add coconut milk. Simmer gently.

Add vegetables and continue to simmer for another 10 minutes, or until eggplant is soft. Garnish with basil or chilies.

