What a fun name to say and to write! The recipe I adapted for my steamed fish suggested serving it with snow peas, which inspired me to make Moo Goo Gai Pan for our next meal. I never realized how much I actually liked Moo Goo Gai Pan, until I moved to New York and no longer got to eat it every now and then with my parents, and I don’t even think we ate it that often. Anyway, now I get cravings for this dish maybe about twice a year. At first I was a little worried that my version wouldn’t taste right, because the sauce was a light brown rather than the cloudy white that you see at restaurants. But, everything turned out wonderful – this was super good!

Moo Goo Gai Pan

The original recipe has water chestnuts and bamboo shoots, which we did not have during the hurricane, so I just added celery and onions instead. This dish definitely needs something crunchy, so celery was a good option.

1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms, halved
1 cup snow peas, sliced into thirds
2 cups broccoli, chopped
1 can (8 oz) sliced bamboo shoots (optional)
1 cup onion, chopped
1 can (8 oz) sliced water chestnuts and/or 1 cup celery, chopped
1 tsp garlic, minced
1 lb skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into strips
1 tbsp cornstarch
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tbsp rice wine
1/4 cup chicken broth

Saute vegetables with vegetable oil in a wok or large skillet over high heat until broccoli is tender, about 5 minutes. Remove from wok and set aside.

Heat 1 tbsp vegetable oil in the wok until it begins to simmer and stir in the garlic and cook until it turns golden-brown. Add the chicken and cook until lightly browned on edge and no longer pink in center, about 5 mins.

Stir together the cornstarch, sugar, soy sauce, oyster sauce, rice wine and chicken broth in a small bowl. Pour over the chicken and bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil for about 30 seconds until sauce thickens and is no longer cloudy. Return vegetables to wok and toss with sauce.

 

