I decided to buy hake fillets (on sale) from the grocery store and was at a loss with what to do with them. Suddenly I got the idea to attempt to steam them Chinese-style. The only problem was that we don’t have a steamer, so I improvised and decided to make my own using a pot, ramekin and plate (I had once seem Noah do this in a wok, so don’t think that I thought of this on my own). I’ve always longed to be able to make a simple steamed fish, but the lack of a steamer had always stopped me. Anyway, the result was great and it’s so easy to make! Next time I think I’ll cut the liquids in half, the fish was almost swimming in the juices.

Chinese Steamed Hake

2 6 oz hake (or other white fish) fillets
salt and pepper
1 tbsp chinese rice wine or sherry
1 1/2 tsp minced ginger
1 tsp garlic, minced
2 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
2 tbsp chopped green onions and/or cilantro

Place small cake rack or ramekin (upside down) in large skillet or stock pot. Pour enough water into skillet/pot to reach depth of 1 inch. Place glass pie pan or plate (preferable with edges) on rack (my plates were actually pretty small so Noah lay two chopsticks across the first plate and then stacked another one on top of it). Put fish in dish, sprinkle lightly with salt and pepper. Sprinkle wine, ginger, garlic and soy sauce over fish.

Bring water in skillet/pot to boil. Cover skillet/pot and steam fish until just opaque in center, about 1o minutes. Transfer fish to plates, top with juices from dish and sesame oil (optional), cilantro and/or green onions.

