I’ve always been terrible at making soup (unless it comes from a packet laden with MSG). The few times I have attempted a soup from scratch, it always ends up tasting like water with boiled vegetables. I had given up hope, but my friend Maggie (who I’ve mentioned before) brought over some delicious mushroom soup for us after we had our baby and I was inspired to try again.

I came across this recipe after searching for ways I could use our leftover dill and random grape tomatoes. Looking at the ingredients, I had no idea what the soup would taste like, but the reviews were so amazing, I decided it must be delectable! And the recipe seemed to have enough flavorful aspects to produce a tasty result. And thus, I achieved a yummy homemade soup – Hungarian Mushroom Soup!

This soup is actually amazingly good, super satisfying – even for a cool fall night.

Hungarian Mushroom Soup


2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 cups chopped onions

1 1/2 pounds fresh mushrooms, thickly sliced

1/2 bunch chopped fresh dill

1 tablespoon sweet paprika

1 tablespoon soy sauce

2 cups chicken broth

1 cup milk

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 ripe tomato (diced) or 1 can diced tomatoes

1 Hungarian wax or regular hot pepper

salt

black pepper to taste

1/2 cup light sour cream, creme fraiche or Greek yogurt

Directions:

Melt the butter in a large pot over medium heat. Cook and stir the onions in the butter until fragrant, about 5 minutes. Add the mushrooms and continue cooking until the mushrooms are tender, about 5 minutes more. Stir the dill, paprika, soy sauce, and chicken broth into the mushroom mixture; reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer 15 minutes.

Whisk the milk and flour together in a small bowl. Stir the mixture into the soup. Add the tomato and the pepper. Return cover to the pot and simmer another 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Season with salt and pepper. Mix the sour cream/creme fraiche/yogurt into the soup and continue cooking and stirring until the soup has thickened, 5 to 10 minutes more. Remove the pepper and discard before serving the soup.

