null

I happened to stop into LuLu bakery one afternoon for a “healthy” cookie. I had had a delicious morning glory muffin (basically a carrot-zucchini-sunflower seed-walnut-apricot-berry muffin) the day before (from Gray Dog) and wanted a treat to replicate its goodness. I went in expecting to be disappointed with finding only frosting and super-sweet things, but they surprised me with an apricot-cranberry-flax seed-walnut-maybe other things, too? cookie. I was blown away and could not stop thinking about said cookie for over a week. Finally, I decided that it couldn’t be that hard to make myself, so I found an everything oatmeal cookie and decided to adapt it. It was pretty scrumptious, but I realized that maybe I don’t quite like oatmeal in my cookies. It just tastes a bit too healthy. LuLu’s cookie was more of a sugar cookie base. Anyway, I made two batches and now I have one whole zip loc bag waiting for future cravings in the freezer.

Oatmeal Fruit, Nut & Seed Cookies

null

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup unsalted butter
3/4 cup applesauce
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup dried apricots, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup flax seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup pecan pieces
1/2 cup walnut pieces

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a large bowl, stir oats, flours, baking soda, salt. and cinnamon.

3. In a medium bowl, combine butter and brown sugar. Using an electric mixer on medium speed, or a food processor, beat until creamy. Stir in applesauce. Add eggs and vanilla, and beat until just combined. Beat in the dry ingredients. Stir in the cranberries, apricots, seeds and nuts.

4. Drop 1 heaping tablespoon of cookie dough 2 inches apart (as they will spread) on non-stick baking sheets.

5. Bake cookies for 20 minutes, or until golden brown all over. Transfer to a rack to cool. Cool completely before storing and place in an air-tight container.

